An Open Letter To My Wife Carol

Picture by KM Cheng, Hong Kong
Picture by KM Cheng, Hong Kong

Dear Carol,

I’ve missed you while you’ve been away visiting your twin sister this past week.  I’m glad that you’re having a good time and getting a break from the usual routines around the house.  You deserve it.
 
I’m writing to tell you how much I appreciate all that you do.  You’re right, maintaining our house is a full-time job.  And it’s a thankless job, too.  I’m sorry that I’ve been so thoughtless and ungrateful.  It’s nice to come home to a clean, organized, orderly home.  I’ve really missed that these past several days.
 
I’ve done my best to care for the pets, the house, and the yard like you do, but I have to admit that it has been a struggle for me.  While I enjoy our house and our pets, I take no great pleasure in completing all the daily, weekly, and monthly chores necessary to keep and maintain them.  Several times over the past week I’ve been overwhelmed at the thought of all the tasks left to be done.  I’ve been angry and irritable, flying off the handle at the slightest set back.  More than once, I’ve lost heart and given up, pushing off the workload to the next day.  Of course, that means even more work to do when that next day arrives.
 
I don’t understand how you can do this work each day, much less want to do it.  Housework to me has always been a necessary evil; something that you do quickly so that you can get to the “more important” activities in your life.  But as I’ve stumbled through this past week, I’ve gained a new appreciation for you and all that you do for our family.  It takes a special kind of heart to want to do the work that you do, a mother’s heart.  To willingly want to serve your family by doing all those thankless tasks necessary to maintain our home each and every day, that’s love. 
 
You give our family comfort and care.  You give me structure and stability.  I can rely on you in so many ways.  Your support at home strengthens me, encourages me, and frees me to do all that I do in this world.  Without you here, I’ve been like a ship without a rudder, tossed about in the storms of life.  I can’t claim to be a great man, but I do know that I’m nothing without you behind me.
 
I feel that I’m seeing you with new eyes.  You are a marvelous woman, special beyond my ability to describe, and I love you.  I’m anxious for your return.  When you do come home, I ask you to hold me accountable: each and every day, I need to thank you for all that you do for me and our family.  It’s because of you that this house is a home.
 
Love,
Dug
2 Responses

  1. What a kind post. I’m sure your wife will treasure it.

  2. wow shes a lucky woman 😉
    ur sooooo sweet !!!!
    check out my website
    http://amandaandkristina.wordpress.com/
    and commments please!!!

Leave a Reply

