DugMugg Guilty Of Being MIA

Image by permission of KM Cheng, Hong Kong

Image by permission of KM Cheng, Hong Kong

Yes, it has been a long time since I last posted to this blog.  I’m sorry.  It has been a struggle for the past few weeks, but in the end very rewarding.  Twice now, I’ve started writing posts describing all that has been happening, but the words fell way short.  Maybe once I get some distance between me and the experiences of August, I’ll be able to write about it in a meaningful way.  For now, all that I can say is that I’ve learned a great deal over the past month, and I’m excited to say that I’m ready to move forward.

First, regarding this blog, I need to do a better job of posting consistently.  There’s nothing like a looming deadline to spur a motivated person to action.  Therefore, I pledge from this point forward to post at least once a week each and every Thursday.  Why Thursday?  For no other reason than I’m writing this post on a Thursday, and I’m going to post it tonight or die trying.  I’ll strive to post more often than once a week, but for now I’m going to set a goal that I feel I can achieve.  It’s time to start building a record of success. 

Now that I’ve committed to doing a better job moving forward, let me explain what I’ve been doing for the past few weeks.  I’ve been pulling together a resume to begin a new career as a freelance commercial writer.  I’m applying to a local creative staffing agency in Columbus as well as spreading the word through my own network of friends and family.  I’m looking to get started on a part-time basis, establishing a reputation for myself while earning some extra income for our family.  We’ll see where it leads from there, but I’m very excited about the broad possibilities.

So there it is, short and sweet for this week.  One final request: I’m counting on you to help me with my writing.  Your comments and questions to this blog mean a great deal to me; they encourage me and inspire me towards new writing directions.  Also, please feel free to hold me accountable to my newly stated posting schedule.  And finally, if you’re aware of anyone who can use my writing talents, please pass my contact information to them.  Thanks!

2 Responses

  1. You have a loyal reader. I keep watching your blog with amazement. It takes guts to make changes in life and you have shown your courage and determination. I have faith and belief in you. Failure is not your style. It is my honor to have a friend like you.

  2. KM,
    Thanks so much for your kind words, and for your friendship. They both mean so much to me.
    Dug

Leave a Reply

