China Revisited

Jiangmen City, Guangdong Province, China

It’s 1:30 AM Thursday morning and I’m up due to jet lag.  Ah, that’s a part of the price you pay to travel to China.

I’m currently located half a world away from where I was when I posted last week.  It has been eighteen months since I last visited China.  Over the past few years, I’ve made several business trips to China; so many in the early years that I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve been here – more than six, less than ten.

Travelling to China is a real yin / yang experience.  It’s very different from home, and that’s both a blessing and a curse. 

For example, on this trip, I resolved to make some additional posts to this blog regarding China and how this current trip is going.  With internet access in my hotel room and extra time on my hands, this would be an opportunity to practice my writing. 

However, I found that I couldn’t log into my WordPress site.  It would accept my password, but would deliver an error message each time I tried to open it as the administrator.  It was two days before I realized my efforts were being blocked by Chinese computer censors. 

While that was a frustration, it forced me to think outside of the box and develop a plan to get over that road block.  It also helped me to appreciate once again all that I have.  It’s easy to get into a rut in the daily routine of your normal life; travelling to a foreign country helps you to see the world through fresh eyes.

That change in perspective is what I like best about travelling to China.  There’s a great deal I want to share about this country, too much for just a single blog post.  Now that I have a work around, I’ll be posting several more times over the next ten days as we continue our trip through China.  Feel free to post your questions, and I’ll do my best to address them in future posts.

It’s good to be back in China.  It’s hard to leave home and family for two weeks, but it’s good to see my Chinese friends again.  As different as countries and cultures can be, I find that there are good people wherever I’m privileged to travel.  That’s the greatest blessing of all.

Leave a Reply

